World Cup Fever

I had a vague plan for the past few years to be in South America for the 2014 World Cup. I missed it when it was in South Africa, because I was living in Mexico. I found this pretty devastating because I’m a bit of a nut when it comes to the Mundial. And here I am, in South America in 2014, but alas not in Brazil. I had the opportunity to head over last minute, with accommodation in Rio and possible tickets, but the flight tickets alone would have wiped out all other travel opportunities for the year. Nevermind the expenses while actually in Brazil – as it is by far the most expensive country in South America. So I declined, with much disappointment.

You can buy Argentina paraphernalia on most streets these days.

You can buy Argentina paraphernalia on most streets these days.

Luckily for me, I’m in the next best place in terms of football fever: Argentina. No one is as passionate as Argentinian football fans (or simply Argentinians. Most of the population here is emotionally invested in their team).

Viewing area in Plaza San Martin

Viewing area in Plaza San Martin

Naturally this means there is a great atmosphere here. The city pretty much grinds to a halt whenever Argentina plays. The city has also been good enough to organise big central viewing areas, which are great for soaking up the vibe and celebrating in good style with some emotional Argentinians. But you don’t need to watch it here to feel the vibes. I saw one game in a café (where I was nearly deafened by a blue and white vuvuzela – little slice of home in the most random of places), cheered along with the locals, I’ve watched a game with a lovely Argentina family, with everyone kitted out in the country’s colours. Working in an office with many Columbians and Brazilians also means that there is constant football fever around me, including an office betting poll.

Buena Onda in the city with all the decorations and people flying flags form their balconies and windows.

Buena Onda in the city with all the decorations and people flying flags form their balconies and windows.

Since my own country isn’t in the world cup (come on Bafana Bafana your people want to support you, just bloody qualify already), I’m supporting Argentina all the way. I have in any case supported Argentina since the 2006 world cup, simply because I liked their style of play. Now I’m hoping for a Brazil – Argentina final. I can only imagine the excitement here if that happens. Vamos Argentina!

Plaza San Martin shortly after Argentina's long-anticipated last-minute goal against Iran.

Plaza San Martin shortly after Argentina’s long-anticipated last-minute goal against Iran.

1 thought on “World Cup Fever

Leave a comment